Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study Steering

The Steering Committee is responsible for working collaboratively to develop a regional approach to wildlife health issues and promote the consideration of health in all aspects of wildlife management.  Members serve as a two-way conduit between SCWDS and SEAFWA state agencies and their Directors.  Members update SCWDS on wildlife health issues confronting their states and guide SCWDS to conduct research projects and to draft policies, model regulations, and advisories that are useful to the states.  Just as importantly, members inform their Directors and agency staff of SCWDS activities, research results, and policy recommendations designed to assist the states in their management of healthy wildlife populations.

Chairman: Paul Johansen, Chief
West Virginia Wildlife Resources Section

Department of Natural Resources
324 Fourth Avenue, Room 305
South Charleston, WV  25303-1228


Chuck Sykes (Co-Chair) - AL
Corey Gray - AR
Mark Cunningham - FL
Mark Whitney - GA (Vice Chair)
Karen Waldrop - KY
Kenny Ribbeck - LA
Sherri Russell - MO
Anthony Ballard - MS
Gordon Myers - NC
JD Strong – OK
Charles Ruth - SC
Chuck Yoest - TN
Gray Anderson - VA